Take the Chance

Heather Sage
daily isms
Published in
2 min readOct 8, 2018
Photo by Ella Jardim on Unsplash

We create our reality. Every action, inaction, chance, avoidance; it all matters. We set the stage and, in part, the plot of our lives. We choose; every choice matters. One choice leads us one way, while another takes us down a different road altogether.

I say if you want something bad enough, go for it. Never at the cost of others, of course, but if its doable, even if you’re scared, do it!

I met my husband by ‘chance,’ but once I met him I knew there was a connection. It wasn’t a know it with my head sense; it was an I feel this deeply in my heart sense. I couldn’t explain it but I knew it felt right and I couldn’t NOT see him again.

J is not shy but he is extremely reserved, prone more to inaction than action. I knew I’d have to make the move if I wanted to see him again. I was scared and unsure, having just ended another long term relationship, but I also knew, like I said before, that I had to take a chance.

One day, I bought a coffee at Tim Hortons, during the yearly “Roll Up to Win” sweepstakes. I told myself, if I win anything I’ll call him.

I rarely win things. Do you? But this day I did. A sign, a grand, amazing opportunity to put myself out there. I only won a coffee but I vowed to get his number and call that week. He answered and, as they say, ‘the rest is history.’

If you want something, go for it. It could change your life. You could marry Mr. Right because of a chance you take; I am. You could land the job of your dreams, or the house you’ve always wanted. Your new best friend might be standing in front of you but it takes courage to be vulnerable. Ask her to lunch, coffee or cocktails. Make the call. Send the text, or email. Turn in your application or resume. Lay it all on the line. Show your heart. Say what you really feel. “This might be crazy, but…”“Give me another chance.”“I am in love with you.” “I am perfect for this job.”

“In the end, we only regret the chances we didn’t take, the relationships we were afraid to have, and the decisions we waited too long to make.” ~Lewis Carroll

Thanks for reading. Connect with me on the 19.

--

--

Heather Sage
daily isms

always thinking & a little too serious. mostly i write about being a soul having a human experience. soulfabric.org