What Is Your Soul Job?

Hint: it’s probably something you’re too afraid to do

Heather Sage
daily isms
3 min readAug 14, 2017

--

Do one thing that scares you every day. Push yourself out of your comfort zone. Risk looking silly. And never look back. I’ve heard all of these statements many times, and I embrace each one. But I forget, often.

Why are we afraid of ourselves, our power? We are all afraid often. None of us (certainly very few) are completely secure within our being. And we are all figuring things out as we go.

I’m writing about this because it’s a lesson I’m working through. I’ve written about it before. I have to. It’s coming up every day. I’m thankful that I see it because I think for a long time I didn’t.

No, that’s not true. I simply wasn’t mindful enough to act on it.

Strength and surrender. Grace and power. Kindness and assertiveness. Being who you are, no matter what others think. These are the qualities I admire most in others.

Why can’t I be more like ….?

A ridiculous thought, really. We all can be whoever we want whenever we want. Fear, habit and playing small stops us. We are meant to shine, but instead we stay stuck. It doesn’t have to be that way. In fact, it shouldn’t.

An inquiry for you. Answer these questions honestly.

  • What do you most want to do that you are not currently doing? What is stopping you? Is it something concrete or a negative thought that keeps you stuck in habit?
  • What gifts do you have that you’re not sharing with the world because you’re afraid of …… (you name it)? What will it take for you to start sharing?
  • In what ways do you play small? How is it serving you? How will you feel if you stop playing small? How will you feel at the end of your life if you never stop playing small?

Perhaps there are lots of little things stopping you that become big once added together. Can you remove the little things one by one?

Maybe it’s past conditioning, the voices in your head that say,

“Don’t make waves.”

“Don’t be too full of yourself.”

“What will others think?”

Do you take the easy road because, well, it’s easy?

“She was powerful. Not because she wasn’t scared, but because she went on so strongly despite the fear.” ~Atticus

Let me tell you a secret. No matter what, you will be okay. If you fail, you fail. That’s it. The world won’t stop and most people won’t notice anyway. We are all more self-absorbed than we care to admit.

Stop letting the mind control and stop you from living a life you love, because honestly, if you have something to give and you don’t offer it to the world, it’s just plain selfish.

Get big. Take up space. You have a right to be here, to exist, and to share your gifts with others. In fact, it’s your job. Your sole (soul) job. Don’t be a quitter, and certainly try not to get fired.

Thanks for reading. Did you enjoy? Please tap the 💚 clappy hands (as many times as you’d like) to recommend it to others. Namaste …

ABOUT & OFFERINGS

Hi! I’m Heather, a writer and yoga educator from SE Ohio. I share daily-ish here as part of my spiritual practice, and am working on my first book, Yoga Prayers. Download the first 25 pages, A Prelude to Yoga Prayers, for a brief introduction into yoga history and philosophy — and let me know what you think!

--

--

Heather Sage
daily isms

always thinking & a little too serious. mostly i write about being a soul having a human experience. soulfabric.org