Before You Bury the Hatchet Don’t Forget to BURN the Handle

When you promise to forgive someone, do you still hold a grudge?

Justiss Goode | F😄M
Daily Justiss

--

Photo Credit: Canva.com

I made up with a former friend recently, after years of holding on to a grudge. Grudge is the only word that comes to mind, even though up until now, I thought I had let the issue go.

According to Oxford Languages, a grudge is described as:

…a persistent feeling of ill will or resentment resulting from a past insult or injury.

Apparently, I”d been holding on to that persistent feeling of resentment, even after I told the girl I accepted her apology. In essence, I had buried the hatchet.

But I guess I left the handle sticking out the ground, just in case I needed to grab hold and pull it out again.

My persistence and continued resentment had something to do with the fact that my friend P.J. never acknowledged what she was apologizing for.

She always pretended to be completely clueless as to why I was upset.

Considering how my “upset” behavior towards her came directly after a specific situation and series of events, I wasn’t buying her ignorance.

--

--

Justiss Goode | F😄M
Daily Justiss

Prolific Writer | Publication Editor | Friend of the Community: Always down to support fellow writers and their stories, in fun, creative, and promotional ways!