Day 3: First Funko Pop!

Ryan Brownewell
Daily Learnal
Published in
2 min readJan 4, 2023

I’ve got a bunch of Funko Pop! vinyl figures. They’re all from The Office, except for two.

There’s a tiny Dundie Funko Pop! on my desk, which was my inspiration for today’s lesson: What was the first Funko Pop!? (this looks like I’m asking the question in a really pressing manner, but really I’m just using the correct brand name of the things, so it’s not as pushy as it looks)

The answer is: there are four that were all launched together, first sold at the 2010 San Diego Comic Con. Technically, they weren’t called “Pop!” yet, but it’s still the same figures we’ve come to know and love.

Anyway here they are:

  • Batgirl
  • Batman
  • Metallic Batman (ooo shiny)
  • Green Lantern (that sucker is GREEN)

According to this site, Metallic Batman is the most valuable at $4,350 as of this writing.

Source: this Reddit thread which references a Funko documentary, which I haven’t seen, but also has comments from people who were at that Comic Con and corroborated these claims. It seems pretty legit and that’s good enough for me.

--

--