3 Lessons on How Not to Fire People, Using better.com as an Example

Dawid Pacholczyk
Daily manager
Published in
6 min readDec 17, 2021

--

Photo by Uday Mittal on Unsplash

Recently, in one of my favorite podcasts, “My First Million” by Shaan Pur and Sam Parr, I listened to a short analysis of the newly famous topic of mass dismissal of employees by the CEO of better.com. I agree with Shaan’s conclusions, and at the same time, I remembered how badly I once handled the dismissal of a person from my team. This is a complicated topic that not everyone wants to talk about. It leads to many pathological situations, such as the case of the better.com CEO. That is why today, we will focus on just that. How NOT to fire people!

Before I go any further, I would like to thank Shann and Sam for their podcast. It’s an excellent business context, easy to listen and full of great ideas. If you haven’t listened to it. Try it, and you won’t regret it.

This CEO will have a hard time!

In the beginning, it is worth answering why this topic became such viral at all? I would mention 3 reasons here:

  1. We are talking about 900 people, and this number alone makes a huge impression.
  2. Everything happened via Zoom. This, in principle, can still be justified by the number of people, the ongoing pandemic, and remote work.
  3. Vishal Targ (CEO) made so many mistakes that I don’t know if it…

--

--

Dawid Pacholczyk
Daily manager

Manager, lecturer, researcher. I turn knowledge and experience into words to help others.