When Scrum Master can do more harm than good?

Having a Scrum Master in your team is not always an improvement. So when what seemed like a great idea, may turn into a nightmare for the team?

Piotr Majak
Daily manager

--

Photo by You X Ventures on Unsplash

Okay, so let’s get one thing straight before I begin, I was a Scrum Master myself and I’m a big fan of the overall concept. However, during my days in Scrum teams, I’ve noticed that in some situations the added value promised by Scrum Master was never actually there.

I’ve made a list of a few cases from my experience when Scrum Masters turned into a burden for the team. I hope that it will help you identify or prevent such a scenario in your team!

When Scrum is simply not needed at all

There, I said it. In many projects there is no use for Scrum whatsoever, therefore Scrum Master will not be needed.

Technically, you can do everything in Scrum, what I say is, you probably shouldn’t.

Good examples of when you should not use Scrum, are support teams, where work is based on tickets popping in 24/7, therefore work cannot be planned (Kanban would be much more useful there) or when you perform very predictable short tasks so that planning and review will not be needed.

--

--

Piotr Majak
Daily manager

I do Project and Product Management, Agile Transformation and Leadership training because I failed as an athlete, lawyer, developer, and many others.