First training RIDE

Dan Schick
Daily Rider
Published in
3 min readFeb 21, 2016

2hrs // 11.5km // 550m climbing

I finally got out for the first actual training ride of the season. I can’t remember getting on the mountain bike since August 2015 with a day at the Whistler Bike Park. Maybe there was another but it obviously wasn’t memorable. From here to the BCBR the plan calls for Saturday rides (~2–4hrs) out on the trails.

How did it go? Humbling. I’m not the greatest technical rider and the North Shore is punishing for even capable riders. Two foot drops and sheer rock faces with wet gravel and slippery roots are the norm. And then you have to ride up the same too. Given that I was out on my own I was a little extra cautious too. So for the main-event trail Ned’s Atomic Dustbin I probably got off the bike and walked ~30 sections. Don’t judge — unless you can do it in which case feel free to laugh but give me some pointers too. I had one crash that landed me on my back in a 3" deep pool of water that freshened up my backside and promoted quicker pedalling to warm up.

It was an extra-wet day (rivers were literally running down the trail–see video below) which means rocks are slick and roots are insane but all-in it was a fun day in the bush. For the next outing I think I’ll trade out my 2.3" minion for a 2.5" Bontrager front tire, so I can drop the pressure a bit on the front tire and reclaim a bit of traction. I’ll also try get the Thomson dropper installed that I recently got.

Check the Strava tracks here:
https://www.strava.com/activities/498127943

Maybe the worst picture i’ve taken ever but hopefully imparts the air of spookiness the North Shore gives in the early morning on a foggy February day. I love it out here. This is headed up Old Buck, Mt Seymour.
Another 200m traveled another bridge. The raging river a sign of things to come.
Winter riding means you have to watch for obstacles on the trail. Sometimes really big ones. I’m sure there are Chuck Norris riders who just jumped that thing.
A moment of peace to reflect on the green mossy beauty of the west coast.
A moment of minor terror to reflect on descending YARFs (yet another rock face)
A selfie of your author so i can publicly track the greying of my beard.
All home, all clean! I do love the organic lines of this bike.

I’ll need to get out and redo this loop at least once more in the next two weeks as the Dirty Duo takes a similar course.

--

--

Dan Schick
Daily Rider

I’m a 40-something guy based in Vancouver, BC, Canada. I ride bikes and wear a tie to work. For daily photo updates: https://www.instagram.com/lumpycam/