A gratitude kept to myself

Instead of saying it to Mom or Brother

Ranjit Raj R
Daily Riyaaz Gratitude, 2017
2 min readJan 4, 2017

--

After class XII, I was insistent on leaving home to study outside the state. I was, for reasons I don’t remember now, first keen on joining Cochin University of Science and Technology. When I couldn’t crack it, I decided to join Lovely Professional University.

I knew I couldn’t make it to SSN. My mom wished I could study there so I wouldn’t leave the city. Despite my dissuasion, she still put in the effort, got me to apply, and I almost nearly risked getting into it! To my relief, I missed by 0.5 marks, but still ended up with an offer to apply to SNU. This was close to Delhi, seemed like a very nice university, and so I said great!

In retrospect, my college days would never have been this good had my mom not applied at SSN. I should be thanking her everyday for this. What would happen if I admitted this though, is that mom would believe she always knows best and insist on calling more shots in my life!

And hence, this gratitude that I owe my good college education to the application from my mother has always remained with me. And I plan to keep it that way.

Today at work, I found that the files I had worked on at home hadn’t synced to my google drive. I needed them! Fortunately, my brother had stayed at home today, so I asked him to mail the files from my laptop to me.

My brother prefers not to be disturbed when he’s taken a day off. But he still did it when I asked, without complaining. There was some loss of time to him, because there were some sync errors and conflict files that ended up being made. But he didn’t give me any attitude. And actually, he never has when I’ve called him up for something.

It’s good to know you can always ask someone for help in situations.

I still choose to not share this gratitude with him! Because when I get home, he may take advantage of my gratefulness and ask me to fill his water-bottle for 5 days as repayment.

--

--