Cheers to 10 years of your leadership

Aadithya Viswanath
Daily Riyaaz Gratitude, 2017
2 min readJan 14, 2017

Cricket, I used to think was every Indian guy’s favorite sport. College made me realize it wasn’t. I still remember posters of Kapil Dev and Gavaskar on the closet doors in my grandparent’s house. He (Kapil) captained the Indian side when my uncles were growing up. Mahendra Singh Dhoni did when I grew up. No, I didn’t have any posters of him or any other player anywhere in my place.

Recently Dhoni announced his decision to quit captaincy. He made the right choice of handing the baton to the new skipper so that he has enough time to understand his players and lead the team better in 2019 WC. Dhoni had the nation’s interest in his heart more than individual honors. He had the guts to take tough decisions on and off the field during his stint and helped Indian cricket reach where it is today.

All this, you must have come across through various sources in the last few days. Multiple friends of mine shared their thanks and wishes for the outgoing captain. It took me some time to process and accept this change happening within the team. To giving Joginder sharma the last over against Misbah, coming up the order and batting exceptionally to give 1.3 billion Indians a WC success after 28 years and making India the best test team, thank you, MSD.

I know this is one more on the millions of wishes and thanks he would have received, yet, as he would say, every single matters. “Dhoni finishes off in style” will always bring tears to my eyes and make me feel proud being an Indian.

Thank you, for winning all this for India and making all of us proud about being an Indian.

--

--