Depressing Sunday evenings and much more…

Kartik Prakash
Daily Riyaaz Gratitude, 2017
2 min readJan 1, 2017

Sunday evenings are the most depressing for me (I guess many people might agree with me on this). There is this feeling of emptiness accompanied by equal amounts of laziness which ultimately leads to zero productivity ( not that I am very productive on other days).

I stay on Mysore Road, one of the busiest highway especially on Sundays when travelers are returning from Mysore, Coorg and Ooty. The traffic on this day looks something like this.

I hope you excuse my phone’s camera quality and my terrible photography skills.

This part of the highway also serves as a frequent stopping point for many travelers as there are a handful of eateries on both sides of the road. I come across many of these travelers when I’m out for dinner.

The feeling of disappointment is palpable on that kid’s face who has to return to his school life after a memorable vacation. My friend Harsh was telling me how he used to spice up the last days of his school vacations by indulging in shopping for his school bag or even stationary.

Oh, and I forgot to mention that techie returning from a “journey of self discovery” in the Western Ghats to his routine 9 to 6 job. Few months down the line I see myself witnessing the same.

Thursdays are my most favorite days. There is always this excitement about the weekend. The possibilities about spending some quality time with friends, family or even yourself. Or a buzz about the release of a potentially good and original cinema, though they not make them like they used to anymore.

--

--