Known Unknown and Unknown Unknown

Sundara Rajan
Daily Riyaaz Gratitude, 2017
2 min readJan 3, 2017

There is a big difference between ‘Known Unknown’ and ‘Unknown Unknown’.

In ‘Known Unknown’, you do know that something exists, but you just don’t know the impact or the value of it. Example:- You do know you might have to exchange your old 1000 and 500 rupee notes in banks within 50 days. But you don’t know when the crowd will be less, so that you can skip the long queues.

‘Unknown Unknown’ is totally different. You don’t even know what you don’t know. Seems confusing right?

Let’s take an example:- People in Japan weren’t even aware of nuclear bombs, and hence they didn’t know the impact of such a bomb. This was an ‘unknown unknown’ to them. Got it?

After watching movies like ‘Rush’ and ‘Thani Oruvan’, I now regret not having an enemy in my life [assuming that the rivalry with someone would have brought a positive impact to my life]. I am also equally thankful to god for not giving me an enemy [assuming that the rivalry with someone would have brought a negative impact to my life].

You know why? Assume there are two shops. Shopkeeper A works on Sundays too, hence he earns more. Looking at this, Shopkeeper B also starts working on Sundays and starts earning more, thus reducing Shopkeeper A’s business. It is a healthy competition.

On the other hand, you may get an enemy, who is good for nothing. A bully, for example. You will hate him at first, later, you will start ignoring him, and finally you would become a bully to him.

I don’t know if I would ever have an enemy in my life. If so, who? when? how long? what would be the impact?

It will always remain as an ‘Unknown Unknown’ to me.

--

--