Opportunity to teach

Siddharth Ganesh
Daily Riyaaz Gratitude, 2017
1 min readJan 27, 2016

A lot happened during my rehabilitation. I had not touched the ball for months and I started to feel lonely. Out of frustration I needed support, I needed someone to guarantee me that I would play again. So I rang my school coach and he asked me to come to his camp in a school. At the camp after seeing me help the kids he asked me “would you like to assist me with the kids?”. “hell yeah!”I thought to myself and with a huge smile I agreed. This was how I started to coach the kids. Then slowly I got myself involved in theirs drills to show them the correct method, actually learning myself. I used to demonstrate the drill and correct their mistakes. I realized that I know very less about the game and was playing it in my own way. Soon I figured out that I need to know more and started watching coaching videos.

I enjoyed every coaching session and learnt something new along with the kids. And more importantly I started to have fun coaching the kids. Teaching is very noble and to teach the right way one have to become a constant learner. My coaching experience taught a lot to me. And gave me hope that I can stay around football. I am grateful for that experience.

--

--