Receiving thanks

Aadithya Viswanath
Daily Riyaaz Gratitude, 2017
1 min readJan 19, 2017

Fifteen minutes to departure of the train, I was waiting for my team mates to arrive at the platform. Usually late, I made sure I woke up early and reached south station on time. Missing the train last time in September taught me to reach the station 15 minutes prior to departure.

It was raining. I was looking forward to meeting up my boss for the first time. The excitement had made me dress up myself professionally ( think finance industry professionalism ). At the same time I was worried for my team mates, doubting if they would make it on time. Just then, an old lady pulled my arm and asked if this was the train going to Providence.

“Yes, ma’am”, I replied.

She had a huge suitcase and a bag on top of it. God knows how she managed to drag it this far into the platform. She asked,

“You wouldn’t help me, would you?”

“Well of course”, I said and helped her with her bags. For a few minutes I completely forgot about everything else, including how lifting a heavy suitcase with dirt (wet) over its rollers can affect my clothing.

After I was done, she held my arm firmly and said “Thank you, thank you so much! God bless you!”

And that felt amazing.

--

--