Technology and Beyond#DRG17

Aditi Seth
Daily Riyaaz Gratitude, 2017
2 min readJan 12, 2017

I sit here, roughly 7500 miles (yes I googled this!) away from what I call home. In a different time zone, my night is their day and their day is my night…

Yet, somehow I don’t really feel away from home. One recent instance; I casually mentioned to mom how I missed her yummy Biryani and wanted to try to make it here. Next day I check my Whatsapp; full instructional videos of her making the biryani with each step outlined awaited me.

Rewind a few months, its Diwali, and for anyone who does not know, this is one of the most important festivals we have in India. I couldn’t miss it for the world. I was there for the puja and other festivities, there on Skype; part of the family although physically so far away.

As I look back to the 6 months I have been here in the US, I have not felt away or disconnected from home even for a second, home is and will always be one whatsapp/skype call away.

I am ever so grateful to the technology we have now, for making me feel at home so far away from home. My father used to tell me about the time he came here to the States for his masters, when the only means of communication were a telegram or letter and expensive international phone calls. A different era, a different time, I don’t quite know how many of us millennials could have survived that to be honest! None the less, I am grateful to be part of this generation and this exciting time in a world of ever advancing technology!

--

--