Balakumaran Seetha Ezhil
Daily Riyaaz Gratitude, 2017
2 min readJan 3, 2016

--

The laptop delivery

As we were wrapping up our trip to Bangalore, my childhood friend requested me to deliver his laptop to his father as he had to leave directly to his University. Exchanging goodbyes, we parted ways. I boarded a night bus and reached Neyveli around 5 am.

As I couldn’t sleep properly the whole night, I just took my bag, got down, reached home and slept off. Around noon, I woke up, took a bath and started having lunch. Suddenly, there was a rush of adrenaline as I finally realized that I had forgotten the laptop bag in the bus. That’s it! I thought I was totally screwed!

A whole lot of negative thoughts cropped into my mind. Oh! What will happen if the laptop is really gone? What am I going to say to my friend? How am I going to pay for the laptop if I don’t get the laptop back? How will my dad react when he gets to know about this? Why in the first place did I even accept my friend’s request to deliver his laptop?

I was often told that I’m the one in the family who used to keep things safely. I just couldn’t believe what had happened! I couldn’t forgive myself for what I have done! The thought, ‘it’s all your fault' kept going on in my mind. I was being so hard on myself.

Finally gathering courage, I took my dad’s bike and with the little driving I knew, reached the travels' office. The lady at the front desk had no idea about the laptop and even told me that the bus had already left for the return trip to Bangalore. That’s it! I believed it was gone for good.

To my luck, the driver who drove that bus yesterday passed that way. After asking me some questions about the laptop to check if I was the rightful owner, he returned it. I just couldn’t believe my good luck.

Although I gave him some money and thanked him for returning the laptop, I can’t repay his kindness and would always remain in debt to him. He has given me some invaluable lesson on humanity and I’m truly grateful to him.

I’m also grateful to that friend of mine for giving me a valuable lesson that neither should I be trusted with someone else’s work nor should I be trusting anyone to do my work no matter how careful they are!

--

--