To my competitor during the school days!

Balakumaran Seetha Ezhil
Daily Riyaaz Gratitude, 2017
2 min readJan 28, 2016

Studying in the same school from the KGs to the 10th (and some years, in the same class), this girl consistently used to top the class. Not just to me, but for the whole class, she was the one to beat. With her perfect grades, her consistency, and her hard work, she proved to be in a different league.

It’s a fact that I could never be as consistent as her. But all I could ever wish was that I should better her score at least once. And my wish did come true. I finally managed to better her score, and that too in X board exam scores, which was extra special.

Although overjoyed at having bettered her grades, I empathized with her knowing that luck didn’t favor her as much it did to me. There was no doubt about her potential. Everyone knew she was way better than what she scored in the board exam. I knew that she’d just shrug it off sooner or later and start preparing for the XII exams. That perseverance and hard work were her strength.

And she didn’t let luck get in her way the second time. Her hard work paid off when she surpassed the medical cutoff. The respect for her only increased as she opted to study MBBS, the toughest and longest degree course.

Currently, Priyadharshini is pursuing MBBS at Thanjavur Medical College. And, with the final year exams coming this February, this letter is to make you realize your strong character and let you know that you are an inspiration for people like me.

Priya, It’s the hard work and perseverance that you stand for, and if anyone can get through MBBS with flying colors, it would be you. I have a high regard for your strong character and I’m certain that you’ll do great in your exams.

All the very best! :)

-Bala, Jawahar Block-6 Annexe :)

Tschuss! Bis Morgen! :D

--

--