What everyone thinks I do…

Aadithya Viswanath
Daily Riyaaz Gratitude, 2017
2 min readJan 2, 2017

Once an engineering student enters his final year (in India), the pressure on everyone except him, starts to build up gradually about “helping him figure out his future”. On top of all the cacophony of advises, if one has a relative working or settled abroad, most likely the case would be that the noise eases out when the “settled abroad” speaks.

Fast forwarding a couple of months after discussing the finances involved and securing an admit at (a funny story in itself) a reputed university abroad, the student bids adieu to his friends and family and embarks upon a journey with excitement and hope of a better tomorrow (not way down the future but, literally). But how can life get better , and that too in just one day?

Every time a friend of my room mate (who is 25 apparently) calls up from India, the first question he is asked is “aur bhai iphone khareed lia?” followed with “kaun si gori patayi?” despite the fact that social media is filled with memes like the one below.

This is absolutely true, my India bound friends (the last and second last are bang on!) and when ever one of you puts up a question about an iphone and a white girlfriend, you take us to fantasy land just like you. Leaving the cribbing here, I feel grateful to Resident Security Office, Northeastern University for making me independent and helping me afford my roof and bread. Although it reminds me of the guard bhaiya at SNU hostel(fellow SNU mates will relate), I feel absolutely no shame in doing the job. Peace.

--

--