Anna Wintour: Daily Routine

Balance the Grind
Daily Routines of Successful People
2 min readNov 20, 2020

--

On Daily Routines, we profile successful leaders, entrepreneurs, artists, executives and athletes to explore the routines, schedules, habits and typical day in their life.

As the editor-in-chief of Vogue since 1988 and artistic director for Condé Nast, Anna Wintour is one of the most powerful people in the media and entertainment. When I found out she was (reportedly) the inspiration behind Meryl Streep’s ruthless character in The Devil Wears Prada, I was interested to find out more about the real Anna Wintour and her working habits.

Like many successful people profiled on Daily Routines, Wintour’s day is highly structured, “I have a pretty consistent structure for my day that I follow that I find that works really well for me,” she said in a Masterclass course video.

Anna Wintour’s daily routine starts early, she typically wakes up between 4am and 5.30am and starts reading British and American news first thing in the morning. After that, she’ll go play some tennis and make a Starbucks run for coffee and breakfast.

As an icon in the fashion world, Wintour is well-known for wearing similar outfits every day (a great way to reduce decision fatigue). “Well I have a wardrobe full of print dresses so every morning I just go to one of my print dresses of choice. It makes decision making a lot easier,” Wintour explained in a

--

--

Balance the Grind
Daily Routines of Successful People

Balance the Grind is a platform for conversations with people from all walks of life who are striving to achieve their ideal lifestyle and balance.