God’s People Gather

Marvin McKenzie
Daily Visit With God
2 min readFeb 11, 2018

--

1 Samuel 7:5 (KJV)

And Samuel said, Gather all Israel to Mizpeh, and I will pray for you unto the LORD.

I just heard a man say that he believes he is moving closer to Jesus but farther from Christianity. I think I understand why a person, who is confused about Christianity, would feel this way. Not all that claims to be Christian is of Christ. I would suggest even that most that claims to be Christian is not of Christ. We are urged to “come out from among them and be separate.”[1] I can applaud him for this first step.

However Christ and true Christianity can never be separated. To follow Christ is to gather into His fold, which is a church.[2]God’s people gather together to pray and to be prayed for. God’s people understand that, even as they seek the Lord individually, they must have teachers and preachers to guide them. No one is a follower of Christ who hasn’t heard and obeyed Paul’s words, “Be ye followers of me, even as I also am of Christ.”[3]

It’s good to recognize and remove from what is error. It is ungodly to remove from what is, in the Biblical sense, Christian.

To my readers:
I would love to hear from you. Leave comments below.

For this and more than 4100 earlier Daily Visits with God visit https://mckenzie-visit-with-god.blogspot.com. There you will find daily visits going back to 2006.

If you have been blessed by this blog, please subscribe to my feed and share it with others.

For more resources from Pastor Marvin McKenzie visit http://puyallupbaptistchurch.com.

My books are available at:
My author spotlight at Lulu.com:
http://www.lulu.com/spotlight/marvinmckenzie

My author Page for Kindle/Amazon
http://www.amazon.com/author/marvinmckenzie

1 Samuel 7:5 (KJV) God’s People Gather

Please consider helping our church’s teen department by signing up for cash back shopping at http://www.dubli.com/M04VB. This program has three levels of participation, the first being completely free.

[1] 2 Corinthians 6:17 (KJV)

Wherefore come out from among them, and be ye separate, saith the Lord, and touch not the unclean thing; and I will receive you,

[2] Not “the church” an invisible body of believers that does not exist anywhere in the Bible.

[3] 1 Corinthians 11:1 (KJV)

--

--

Marvin McKenzie
Daily Visit With God

Pastor, self published Amazon Author, avid student of the Bible. teacher of the Word of God in college level . Daily visit with God www.marvinmckenzie.org