year 2017, week 21.

Justin Thor Simenson
Daily, Weekly.
Published in
3 min readMay 26, 2017

Collaboration wanted.

A black and white edit of a photo from my project “But when it rains…”

Monday.

Did you know 21 is my favorite number? It is. I am not sure why but I have considered it so since I was a kid. Back when I was in little league I wanted it as my jersey number but that never happened.

I was thinking about a book I want to do with some of my old work. Reediting and re-sequencing various different photos together for more El Burque work. I think I could easily come up with something for a fun zine(s). In thinking about it I remembered that for my We Are Neighbors project I had printed a bunch of photos and then wrote about a ton of them. I need to dig through my notebooks and find those. I think it would help with my project on home as well as El Burque stuff.

Tuesday.

I am tired of struggling. Of saying I am having a hard time getting my work out there. I am becoming a complainer. I hate that. No excuses. I just need to create some shit. Not shitty shit. Some good shit.

Wednesday.

I often feel more accomplished when I am making publications. In comparison to working on photography projects that is. And it make some sense because in publishing I am finalizing something.

But would I feel as accomplished if the work wasn’t all mine? If I collaborated with other people and made publications of their work, would I feel the same? I am thinking it might be a good time to find out. I am thinking of reaching out to a few photographers and making a publication of their work.

Again, I have to figure out the way we get that into an audience’s hands. But at least then it will be a mutual goal.

Thursday.

PhotoSummer is getting ready to launch here in New Mexico. I need to try and make it to as many openings as possible and to meet and mingle with as many of my fellow photographers as possible.

It is a great thing to have right in my city and state. So I better take advantage as much as possible. Maybe I can find someone to collaborate with. Maybe I can find a better way to sell myself, a wider audience.

I will share what happens, that is for sure.

Friday.

I said it before and I am saying it again. I need to connect with people that are working to change the industry I am in for the better. And I say that for two simple reasons. #1 is because I have the knowledge and ability to help them. I don’t know who they are or what they are doing for change, but I am sure I can be a benefit. #2 is to add contrast to my photography and writing projects. If I create a project showing smart development that is sustainable in this environment I think it would instantly make my previous projects more relevant.

I keep going back to Oscar’s post about the future of cities. It has been a beacon of hope for me that I need to navigate toward.

--

--

Justin Thor Simenson
Daily, Weekly.

A husband, father, son, civil designer, photographer, and writer. Living in Albuquerque, New Mexico.