year 2017, week 22.

Justin Thor Simenson
Daily, Weekly.
Published in
3 min readJun 2, 2017

progression and regression

Nick Tauro Jr and Karen Mazur of Latent Image Collective at their pop up show in front of 516 Arts.

Monday.

-observing Memorial Day-

Tuesday.

On Saturday I made it out to 3 art openings and 1 performance art piece. What a night to make it out in Albuquerque! PhotoSummer is getting better and better with each passing year. It was my kids birthday and I had every excuse to stay at home but I am sure glad I didn’t. From backlit scans of dead birds wrapped in fabric to amazing landscape photographs to interpretive dancing with coyote calls off in the distance. It was a great night.

I also spent time on Sunday and Monday digging through a bunch of my archives for images for my El Burque series. I think I have a stack of enough photos. I also have the format and layout style figured out. Now I just need to divide them up into the volumes and sequence.

Progress.

Wednesday.

More progress.

What do you use to layout and sequence your photos? Do you remember the Light Table feature in Aperture? I loved that feature. It was an expansive space to play with scale and sequence. I wish Lightroom had that feature. Or even better, I wish there was a stand alone Creative Cloud app for it so I could play with the same Light Table on my iPhone, work PC, my iMac, or whatever and wherever. There is probably something out there that I just don’t know of.

Speaking of Aperture. A few months ago I moved my last three Aperture libraries to a NAS drive. They were full of old photos I had yet sorted and transitioned to Lightroom. I needed the space on my iMac. And I could do the sorting and exporting as needed. So I thought. Now I can’t get that drive to show up on my computer. Fuck.

C’est la vie.

Thursday.

Trump is pulling the USofA out of the Paris Agreement. In related news pulling out will soon be the only free birth control.

Doesn’t it feel so good to be great?!

Friday.

Because of yesterday’s post I am looking for the positive even more. The positive like California’s governor heading to China to make climate progress. Positive is so much more helpful to me and my work. It is so much more helpful to my city and state. And even more, it is the only helpful thing for our planet.

Stay positive. But still tell those fuckers they are on the wrong side of history. Just do it in the most positive way you can. Like smile while you flip them off.

--

--

Justin Thor Simenson
Daily, Weekly.

A husband, father, son, civil designer, photographer, and writer. Living in Albuquerque, New Mexico.