year 2017, week 24.

Justin Thor Simenson
Daily, Weekly.
Published in
3 min readJun 16, 2017

the weird week.

Monday.

Finding a rhythm on Mondays is always so hard. I still hold tight to the mindset of the weekend. Even while standing at my desk at work.

Push ups help. They are also good for my physical health as I am getting closer to my mid 30's and can’t afford the extra pounds I gain every winter. I need to get out and skateboard at least once a week too. I picked it back up last summer and really loved it all over again.

I also need to get my mind off of the books I ordered. They are shipping today so I should get them by the end of the week. I am so stoked to see them. But I need to distract myself and let it just happen.

Tuesday.

Today was filled with seminars and work so my mind was taken off the book delivery. Almost. I still looked and it is currently in Oklahoma.

I am now heading to the skate park to get a little exercise in tonight. Wish me luck.

Wednesday.

I survived the skate park! But damn it hurts to take a fall at my age. I know that pain is just making me stronger.

Albuquerque is breaking my heart. Every time I go to an event by a national company and they talk about what industry is doing to move forward I am encouraged by also know that Albuquerque will take 10+ years to get where they are today.

Why? Why can’t we have drone surveying companies (one that really know what the hell they are doing and not just old hats trying to look cool). Why can’t the construction companies be pushing for change in their work flow rather than waste money on the status quo?

I met a few people that like to push for change. That was encouraging. But are our voices loud enough for the rest to take notice?

Thursday.

What a freaking odd day. It actually started last night when I dropped my iPhone on the tile floor and cracked the screen. Then this morning while driving to work the window on the rear driver side door exploded. Just straight up blew out. Scared the shit right out of me. But it is only 2:43pm and I have a new window in the truck and a screen protector on my iPhone (in hopes to buy some time).

Oh and that Blurb order that was scheduled for today is coming. Hopefully tomorrow, which will still be quick, but I am not holding my breath.

El Burque for sure man. Fuck. But whatever, I move on. I am still ruminating about what it is about “home” I want to focus on. There is one deep thing I want to get to. One deep concept I want to scratch down to and explore. When I think on it it is like I am walking in the pitch black. I can feel it close by but never find it. Once I do it will be the light that guides me out of the dark nether regions of my mind.

Friday.

The fuck is going with my luck lately? Those books I was hoping to get are taking a fucking sight seeing summer road trip. Damn.

In the grand scheme of things I guess I have plenty of other shit to worry about. It is Father’s Day on Sunday and I hope to spend it sitting in the mountains.

A long strange trip.

--

--

Justin Thor Simenson
Daily, Weekly.

A husband, father, son, civil designer, photographer, and writer. Living in Albuquerque, New Mexico.