year 2017, week 26.

Justin Thor Simenson
Daily, Weekly.
Published in
3 min readJun 30, 2017

Constantly redefining.

Monday.

Home has a certain draw and that is what I want to capture. What is it about home that makes me want to just be there? Doing something or nothing, I just want to spend time there. But in all actuality I don’t spend that much time there. I am off here and there and now with a 5 year old it is only getting worse.

The gravity of home is hard to escape and I want to explore it. I think. So far that is what the project is shaping up to be. I still haven’t shot any photos yet. I wanted to but then I was so lost at what the project was so I stopped.

Tuesday.

I am beginning to have a sinking feeling about Medium. Over the past few months I have seen a steep decline in the number of new followers. I was getting 3–4 every day now I get 1 every other week at best. I am also seeing less stories being written by the people I follow. It could be the new layout but I think it is more that they are pushing their “membership only” content on me. Since I am seeing less of other peoples writing are less people seeing my writing?

I hope it is just growing pains with Medium. I hope that they aren’t restricting the visibility of my writing because I am not a “member”. I joined Medium because it wasn’t like that. I joined Medium because everyone had a level playing field. Fuck the biased system was the mantra.

Wednesday.

Honestly I wrote yesterday’s words this morning. After much frustration every time I opened Medium yesterday I just couldn’t type the words. This morning I felt better/more hopeful.

Home. That project that is nagging at me from the back of my brain. I really need to make some time to go out and experiment. I want my photos to be completely different (like I’ve said before) and I know it is going to take experimentation and failure. I have enough of a concept I think.

With a kid on the way making time might become a problem. I remember back to when we had our daughter, the first few months I was in a constant state of haze from lack of sleep. This time around might go smoother because we know more but we go in knowing there will be lack of sleep. Finding me time will also help keep the sanity.

Thursday.

Order books. Make new contacts. Begin talks on coordinating events to build and extend community.

It was a busy and productive day outside of my normal 8–5 job.

Friday.

This week was full. And busy. And went by way too quick. But I think it resulted in me progressing on things I have let lag.

This morning when I logged onto Medium their new dashboard (or whatever they call it) was mostly featuring one of their stories. Top and center. Above all of the content that I have chose to follow which is small titles and no photos. Below that is mostly membership only content that has nice photos and titles in a big area. I gotta keep my head down and just hope it is growing pains. Hope it is just an awkward teenage phase. Because twice this week it has gotten to me and I don’t want to loose this platform. But if I have to, so be it.

--

--

Justin Thor Simenson
Daily, Weekly.

A husband, father, son, civil designer, photographer, and writer. Living in Albuquerque, New Mexico.