year 2017, week 29.

Justin Thor Simenson
Daily, Weekly.
Published in
3 min readJul 28, 2017

Grabbing the bull by the horns. This will probably not end well for me.

Monsoon 2. Albuquerque, New Mexico.

Monday.

This weekend I attended an info session for the grant I am applying for. I learned some good tips on how to angle my application into what they are looking for and also met some of the other applicants. Seeing that energy in the local community was great. Especially here in Albuquerque where the collaborative idea is somewhat behind the curve.

I also am starting to see progress with the other collaborative project. And all of this is work is giving me ideas for my other projects.

All of this momentum needs to be maintained. Even if we don’t get the grant, that project will be that much farther down the road that it will be manageable. My personal projects will also gain a level of expectation I have for them after all of this.

Tuesday.

So 6 weeks until my wife’s due date. A little boy in our house will be a whole new ball game for sure. I am trying to step back and take it all in but at the same time everything is moving so fast in so many directions that it makes it all so hard to keep control.

But I have been shooting, albeit slowly, a new series of photos. One that isn’t serious at all and every time I find a scene it makes me laugh that I am even photographing it. It feels good to work on something light hearted with no expectations. Especially during this time when I have so much other heavy shit going on.

But it is all good. I’ve asked for every single thing I am tackling and I couldn’t be more excited. I never thought that I would tackle them all at the same time, but then again there really is never a “perfect time” for it. Just be ready for when it comes up.

Wednesday.

I really wish I could wear headphones at work. I would be so much more productive. Music is such a motivator for me. Today I’ve listened to a lot of Junior Kimbrough and R.L. Burnside. Two great blues musicians from the hill country area of Mississippi and prime examples of one of my favorite sub-genres of the blues. It is dark and rhythmic.

Thursday.

call me stupid or crazy but I am starting a second application for that grant. what the hell am I doing with myself?

Friday.

This weekend is going to consist of long hours and still not enough time. But I will do my best. Grant applications are due 8–1 by midnight.

--

--

Justin Thor Simenson
Daily, Weekly.

A husband, father, son, civil designer, photographer, and writer. Living in Albuquerque, New Mexico.