Long Awaited Rain

Tina Kowalski
Daily Winning
Published in
2 min readAug 5, 2024

--

What it has been like for me as a Self-Published Author

Photo by John Noonan on Unsplash

We had heard the news — Jasper had become a victim of the current wild fires, losing several buildings and displacing its inhabitants. Located further south we hadn't had any wild fires yet but there was always the possibility with the unrelenting hot temperatures and excessive wind common in the summer. Finally after several weeks, it started drizzling and continued for several hours last night.

I began my writing journey over seven years ago and I am still not what would be considered a successful author. I made several mistakes with my first few books:

  • I didn't look into getting a professionally created cover instead just going with the free option and stock photos,
  • I didn't hire an editor so my books are littered with typos and grammatical errors that I am still fixing,
  • I didn’t focus on getting reviews so I could learn what people liked about my books and what improvements I needed to make in the next ones, and
  • By self-publishing I robbed myself of the opportunity to have a marketing team behind me.

Despite these flaws family and friends bought the books as a show of support but it was difficult selling them to a wider audience. Then the inevitable drought came and the gods of Amazon moved on to newer, more effectively packaged products. It didn’t bother me because I found a stable job which took care of my needs. No metaphorical wild fires came through and destroyed my work and I was content to let them flounder in the barren wasteland of books no one knows about.

Then I joined a new writers group and waves of creativity started flowing. Working with others who are at different places on their writing journey has encouraged me to try again to get my message out there. I am learning to keep writing and not give up — you never know when you will find someone who likes what you have to say. Eventually, the financial rains may come but for now I will keep writing and enjoy watching the seeds I have planted develop.

P.S. You can find my first two books at the links below. Please read or listen to them and leave an honest review. Thanks.

books2read.com/Unlikely-Righteousness

books2read.com/AADTFB

--

--

Tina Kowalski
Daily Winning

Tina Kowalski is a self-published non-fiction commentary author of three books and a regular contributor to quora.com.