Today’s Prompt: Washcloth

Susan diRende
Themed Writing Prompts
2 min readOct 23, 2017

One of the things I always pack for travel is a washcloth in my carryon. Maybe another in my suitcase. I get the dollar store kind rather than a plush one because it takes up almost no space and if it getting stained or just too dirty for some reason, I can toss it. Even if I will be staying in four-star hotels, I find a use for it sooner or later.

A washcoth can come in handy in so many ways beyond simply washing my face in an airplane bathroom after an overnight flight. It can be a mini towel if I spill something. It can serve as a hanky if the need arises. I’ve used it as a napkin for food if I have no plate. Padding for something small and breakable before putting it in a container. I’ve cleaned my glasses and mobile screen with it. Rubbed a stain on my clothes with a bit of water or spit if I have none.

None of these things are huge and my travel wouldn’t be ruined without it. However, there are so many small inconveniences that pop up that a traveler has no way to address. Things you would handle at home without a thought. On the road, if you’re like me a prefer to pack light, anything that can do multiple duty to handle small annoyances improves your sense of being in control and feeling of competence for facing the unknown way beyond the actual benefit of the thing.

HOW THIS WORKS: I have a jar of nouns. I pick one at random and post it. If I’ve done this right, none of the prompts will be something you’re excited to write about. The excitement comes through what you find as you write about the commonplace.

By the end of the day, write a minimum of 250 words but no more than 500 instigated by the noun.

Tomorrow, I will post my effort here and make a new post for whatever word comes out of the jar next. You are invited to post your writing or link to it in the comments so others can read it. Visit yesterday’s prompt to see what showed up there, whether you wrote your own or posted it.

You can comment without contributing. However: No critiques, please, but discussion of the process most welcome.

--

--