Two things to keep in mind when trying to teach something

Things I always abide by

Kiwi Yamabushi
Daily Yamabushi
Jul 11, 2024

--

Originally published on Timbunting.com.

Photo by Mr. Bochelly on Unsplash

Don’t lie to people you’re trying to teach by praising them prematurely. They’ll find out sooner or later, and when they do, they’ll lose faith in you. No need to be a dick about it, but it’s always best to keep it honest.

Same goes for when you don’t know something. Say you don’t know it. You can hazard a guess, but you have to say that it is only your best guess. Either way, it’s usually easier to say you don’t know the answer.

My Yamabushi Mailing List

Tim Bunting Kiwi Yamabushi on Zao-san. Photo owned by Kiwi Yamabushi.

Think you know Japan? I don’t, but I love learning about it. Learn more with my yamabushi newsletter.

--

--