When You’re Hungry You Only Have One Gear | BestOfGaryVee

Raymond D'ware
DailyVee Mix-Up
Published in
3 min readMar 14, 2018

You’re really doing it man. Like, listen I watch everything. I spend my life looking at culture and whether it’s hip hop and spending time with Kyle or Russ or Logic or I’m looking at comedians. I’m spending a lot of time looking at that space. I look at everything that’s happening podcasting blogging personal brands on Instagram. You are really doing this. And my one massive piece of advice would be step on the throat of this opportunity, go harder. This is a moment in time. It ebbs and flows. I’m always going to be a winner. And I’ve always won. But I’ve been through three cycles when it was better, like I should’ve collected more e-mails and did more Google Ad Words. That’s how it got from three to 60. I was right I should’ve went harder YouTube. I was one of the first people on it. Four months into YouTube I should’ve went harder.Twitter. I went hard. I got my value. When you have your moment, my moment right now is I’m going hard like hard. Like I’ve never worked harder like know it’s 6 a.m. to 1:00 in the morning…like this is your moment and somebody is going to watch this. And I mean this whole thing that you’re doing and they’re going to do the same move and. They’re going to be cooler than a punter. I mean it… I mean it.

Now my intuition is they might not be more talented than you right. Look at this. But this is a moment bro you’re winning. You’ve got the hearts and minds of a lot of people you’ve got real fucking magic inside of you.

A lot do but you need to go cross pollinate you resonate with everybody.

Dude. You’re an authentic human being. You’ll win with 41 year old females you’ll win with 22 year old Latino’s in San Antonio … you’ll just win.

You need to go hack culture.

What that means is you need more awareness and exposure and not just a niche that comes to you which means you got to go work. You got to go show up on shit. You need to show up on Rogan’s podcast. Right. Boom explosion. You need to go and become friendly with some hip hop artists. Rich The Kid, a million followers on Instagram… like you’ve got it.

Everybody says Fuck Facebook it’s fucking me I’m like NO YOU NEED TO FUCK FUCK IT BACK take people out of it.

You can say fuck ESPN until you go on the ESPY’s and you siphon all those fans. It’s the best to go into enemy territory.

I go do interviews with certain people that I don’t love to siphon people out of it. It’s a win win.

When you’re in a good place when you know your intent when you’ve figured yourself out it’s game over…………..

Are you in a relationship? It’s super hard. It is. You need a fallback … You need somebody to clear the path you need Old school…when you’re hungry when you’re hungry you need old school football, like you don’t know you need a fullback or cheerleader. You definitely don’t need a wide receiver when you’re hungry when you’re hungry.

Lizzy’s like the only reason I’m pulling off this shit and that self awareness like. Like you need to find a partner in life this is not. I’m not trying to be cool or anything.

This is by the way this is the advice I give most of my female entrepreneurs that I invest in. This is not boy advice. Human advice you need to fall back or cheerleader if because the problem is is when you’re hungry you only have one year. And if you don’t have somebody supporting that by clearing the way or cheering for it it’s going to create friction.

#BestOfGaryVee

--

--

Raymond D'ware
DailyVee Mix-Up

Visionary/Creative/Writer: Reverse Engineering Lif3 OUTSIDEthaBOX *Entertainment*Locator*Scout*