Mayor Johnson, Las Vegas Mayor Goodman make friendly wager on Stars-Golden Knights game

Maddy Madrazo
Office of Dallas Mayor Eric L. Johnson
2 min readMay 19, 2023

DALLAS — Dallas Mayor Eric L. Johnson and Las Vegas Mayor Carolyn G. Goodman on Friday made a friendly wager prior of the start of the National Hockey League’s 2023 Stanley Cup Playoffs Western Conference Final between the Dallas Stars and the Vegas Golden Knights.

Mayor Johnson tweeted on Thursday evening, “What do you say, @mayoroflasvegas, to a friendly wager on the @NHL @StanleyCup Playoffs Western Conference Final? If the @GoldenKnights win, a genuine Stetson is yours from Wild Bill’s Western Store in Dallas. State YOUR wager, and let’s go all in! #TexasHockey @DallasStars.”

Mayor Goodman responded and said she was “all in.” She offered to send Mayor Johnson a piece of Las Vegas history if the Dallas Stars win the series: one of the original 89 lights that illuminated the iconic Welcome to Fabulous Las Vegas Nevada sign, which was erected 1959.

“The Dallas Stars have had an incredible season,” Mayor Johnson said. “I know I speak for all of Dallas when I say we are ready to cheer on our team as they vie for the right to play for the Stanley Cup, and I am eager to display in my office at Dallas City Hall one of the original lights from the famous ‘Welcome to Fabulous Las Vegas Nevada’ sign.”

Wild Bill’s Western Store in Dallas proudly sponsored the wager. Store owner Julie Newport expressed her hope for a Dallas Stars victory but also said she looks forward to fitting Mayor Goodman with “one of Texas’ finest Stetson hats” in the event of a loss.

“I love the City of Dallas, and I am excited to see our Las Vegas Golden Knights take on the Stars in the Western Conference Finals,” Mayor Goodman said. “I have always loved horse riding and cannot wait to wear my new cowboy hat after the Knights win.”

“I love a friendly competition and appreciate Mayor Goodman’s willingness to participate,” Mayor Johnson said.

He added, “I do love Las Vegas, so in the unlikely event the Stars lose, I just might deliver Mayor Goodman’s Stetson personally. But I hear Lady Luck’s moved to Big D, so ‘Let’s go, Stars!’”

The Dallas Stars will travel to Las Vegas to face the Vegas Golden Knights for Game 1 of the series. The puck drop is scheduled for 7:30 p.m. CT on Friday, May 19.

--

--