“I’d Rather Be a Pig Than a Fascist”

Dan Sanchez
Dan Sanchez Blog
Published in
1 min readApr 22, 2015
Porco Rosso
You're a major, eh? You've come up in the world, Fierrali.

Fierrali
You fool. Why did you come back?

Porco Rosso
I make it a rule to go wherever I want to.

Fierrali
The authorities aren't going to let you go this time.
Did somebody tail you?

Porco Rosso
I gave them the slip.

Fierrali
A warrant for your arrest is being issued for refusal to cooperate
with the state, illegal coming and going, decadent thoughts, being a lazy pig, and display of indecent materials...

Porco Rosso
Ha ha ha ha

Fierrali
You idiot, this is no time to laugh. They're threatening to
confiscate your fighter.

Porco Rosso
This is a terrible film.

Fierrali
Marco, come back to the Air Force. We'll use our influence to work
something out for you.

Porco Rosso
I'd rather be a pig than a fascist.

Fierrali
The age of dare-devil aviators is over. Now we can only fly in the
service of worthless causes like "country" or "nation".

Porco Rosso
I only fly for myself.

--

--