Kōrero Pitopito: A Coffee Chat with Gerardo Morales

Digital Arts Network New Zealand
DAN Stories
Published in
2 min readMar 7, 2022

Welcome Gerardo to Digital Arts Network! Gerardo, also known as Gera, is our Chilean Dancer that brings joy and lots of energy to our studio. We asked Gera what it’s like being a designer and what inspires him.

How did you get into your career path?

I graduated as a Graphic Designer a long time ago. Back in the day, I used to design and code websites and apps for so many clients. From the beginning, I wanted to pursue a career in user experience design, but I wasn’t clear on how to get more involved.

What inspires you in your work?

As a designer, I think that collaboration is fundamental for work. I love to explore, participate in events and keep myself inspired by others’ work. Plus, there is something romantic across the design process, sitting next to smart people and thinking about the journey to define the best strategy and approach we can take in our end-product. It’s such a rewarding feeling.

What interesting thing is happening in your field right now?

Two weeks ago, I watched an online talk about Sustainable Design; four mentors talked about their insights about how we can be better designers having in mind the goal of reducing carbon footprint. But also about a holistic approach for designers to look after our peers in demanding work environments.

What is the one thing that you wish someone had told or shown you when you started out?

I wish someone had told me that I don’t have to feel bad if my thinking or designs aren’t there yet. I won’t have all the answers for every challenge, and it’s okay to have unknowns. As designers, we never stop learning, and we are constantly evolving. Because of this, I know that I want to be the designer I needed when I was a junior and help others.

Digital Arts Network \ New Zealand is the User Experience Centre of Excellence for the global TBWA marketing & brand network of 275 offices in 119 countries. We leverage design and strategy to create experiences at scale, build organisational capability and accelerate innovation. If you’re ready to partner up and create some brave work, you can get in touch with us here.

--

--

Digital Arts Network New Zealand
DAN Stories

DAN NZ is a strategic design and innovation studio. Learn more about us: www.dan.co.nz | IG digitalarts_nz