How Did I Get Here?

Dana Mason Berchman
Dana Berchman
4 min readJun 2, 2015

--

I recently was asked to give a presentation to the Mayor’s Youth Advisory Council about my unexpected career path. I hadn’t really thought about it that way until I started putting the presentation together. All of the decisions I’ve made along the way, from choosing a college and a major to where I took my first job, led me to where I am today. And it has been a unique journey.

It all started here in Gilbert, where I now work, when I got involved in Student Council and various other groups and clubs in high school and decided I wanted to major in Political Science. While at Arizona State University, I spent a summer interning for Hillary Clinton’s New York Senate campaign in New York City. From there, I lived in Spain and then moved to Washington DC, where I attended American University and earned my Master’s in Journalism and Public Affairs. Then it was time to make some major career choices. Did I want to pursue on-camera journalism or did I want to produce, direct and write? I made the decision to move to New York City where I soon landed a job at MTV. I spent the next six years in various Producer/Director roles for Choose or Lose, True Life and was the original casting director for 16 and Pregnant. But I wanted to be in news — and in live television. I made the jump to NBC News where I worked as a producer and writer for Andrea Mitchell Reports and various other MSNBC shows. It was the perfect combination of my political and journalism backgrounds. I quickly rose through the ranks because of vast experience and political knowledge. But, after having my first daughter, I decided to make a daring move back to Arizona where my family lived. But what would I do career-wise? After where I had been, I didn’t want to work in local news. So, I took a job at my alma mater, Arizona State University, where I handled media relations and taught Journalism courses. After nearly two years there, I was hired as Gilbert’s first Chief Digital Officer; a role which truly does combine the skills from all of my previous work experiences. As one of the fastest growing communities in the country, there is something happening in Gilbert every day. Whether it’s opening its first University or expanding and growing businesses, there is always something to promote. We focus on video production, moving away from the traditional press release and incorporating video into our releases. We turned our annual mayoral address into a high-definition, year in review video production. It’s rewarding, challenging and fulfilling. We are setting new standards for communications in local government and people across the state and country are taking notice. I love the work I do and the people I work with. I’m learning every day and still have the opportunity to teach others. Based on my experiences, where I’ve been, traveled, lived and worked, I bring a unique perspective back to Gilbert, to government, to my colleagues and to the work I do each day.

I often talk to my staff and others about the importance of building relationships. I wouldn’t be where I am today without the many wonderful and motivational people who have helped me along the way. I also take great pride in knowing that I could call up anyone I’ve worked for, in any job I’ve held, and I could confidently say they would hire me again if they could. At least I hope they would.

Choices matter. All of them. No matter how big or small, they all lead you down a path that will ultimately end, if done carefully and with hard work, with being fulfilled, in both your career and in life.

--

--

Dana Mason Berchman
Dana Berchman

Chief Digital Officer, journalist, wife and mom to two beautiful daughters. Opinions are my own.