A Conversation on Drinking

A True Poem

L. B.
Dancing Elephants Press

--

Photo by Vianney CAHEN on Unsplash

Two different people
One drunk, one sober
And a conversation that happens
From the beginning until it’s over

What worries or problems are to be had?
Nothing can bother me
Nor make me sad

Life’s problems, seem less impactful
As I enjoy these libations
My problems take a back seat
Goodbye stresses and frustrations

But this isn’t the answer to those problems!
Tomorrow they will still be there
This does not solve them
Of this you HAVE to be aware!?

Calm down my friend
What do you know?
You ruin a relaxing fun evening
With your judgmental comments in tow

No judgment here, simply pointing out facts
Whatever alcohol offers to you
What it gives, it WILL get back

With time, this becomes more obvious
Partners, friends, money
Those around will grow tired of this
What started benign, will no longer be funny

--

--

L. B.
Dancing Elephants Press

I write about life through poetry and other stories. Christian, BA in Liberal Studies.