A Happy Soul: What it Takes to Be a Happy Soul?

Umme Salma
Dancing Elephants Press
3 min readJul 13, 2023
Image by Sebastian Voortman on pexel.com

By the grace of Almighty, I am a happy soul, and it does not mean sadness, sorrow, and suffering don’t touch me, but mostly I am fine-tuned with the rhythm of my life.

I inherited a happy soul as I have seen my mom and dad always appreciating the gifts of life without complaining about the odds. My parents’ upbringing was so positive that I need not give extra effort to be grateful by the grace of the Almighty.

But what it takes to be a happy soul?

The simple answer is Gratitude.

Here are a few points from my Gratitude List.

  1. Almighty has gifted me the privilege of staying at home and adding value to the life of my family and myself.
  2. I have the time to pursue my passion for writing since I left my job.

My first book was published a couple of months ago, and my second is yet to be under the umbrella of Dancing Elephant Press.

3. I work from a corner of my bedroom and can see the changing colors of the sky, refreshing greeneries, and cute birds through my windows. I enjoy the gentle breeze/the warmth of the sun/ or the soothing rain while working in my room.

It feels like I am working in the lap of Nature while working from my bedroom.

Alhamdulillah (Prase to the Almighty).

4. I have time to experiment with cooking. I feel so motivated when my husband loves my cooking.

5. I can take my five times daily prayers on time as I stay at home. It feeds my soul unimaginably.

6. I can take a 15–20 minutes afternoon nap that recharges me for the rest of the day. I feel so refreshed and energized that I could not imagine when I did a 9–5 job.

7. I have plenty of Alovera trees on my balcony, and

I apply fresh Alovera gel on my face with my 63 years old aunt-in-law.

Such a great way to self-care, along with making my senior happy!
These are a few points from my gratitude list.

I don’t maintain a gratitude Journal. But, I always make sure I start and end my day remembering the Almighty and His blessings upon me. That’s why most of the time, I am a happy soul.

I believe you are also a happy soul. I would love to hear your three favorite points on your gratitude list. Please mention in the comment box if you wish to share with us.

Thanks for reading my story and supporting me. It means the world to me.

--

--