A LESSON IN HUMILITY

In response to Dancing Elephants prompt 4 of Life Column

Neera Handa Dr
Dancing Elephants Press

--

Photo by Jonathan Ramalho on Unsplash

I met them, a bunch of ruffians having a party on the side of the road, on my way to the restaurant, “Thieves!” I muttered under my breath!

I had left my car a bit too far, as I had found a free parking, not realising the distance, and also forgetting the area that I had to cross. I was carrying an expansive carry bag matching my outfit. I mean expensive!

In the bag I had a bottle of wine, and chocolates, and I also carried a big cardboard box with a beautiful and expensive cake inside. I was going to a birthday party, celebrating someone’s special day with a group of friends. Everyone must be waiting for these if not for me, I thought as I sped up my steps.

I heard someone calling, but I kept walking, someone was certainly following me, as when I increased my speed, they did too. They were getting close, and I almost started to run.

I could see the big road, and once I crossed it, it would be my destination, the well-lighted busy square with posh restaurants and proper people, I mean, safety.

“Sir, please stop!” I again heard, but I didn’t stop, actually to avoid them getting any closer, I walked even faster, and then the most dreaded thing happened, I fell down!

--

--

Neera Handa Dr
Dancing Elephants Press

Top writer in poetry & Sustainability, compulsive writer, reading, writing just about anything. I write daily, have published a PhD, a book & academic articles.