A Mom Without a Child

I choose to be child-free

cami ❀
Dancing Elephants Press
2 min readJul 8, 2024

--

Photo by DESIGNECOLOGIST on Unsplash

I have a child
not someone I hide
a child out of the norm
no gender or form

A child of mine
never seen sunshine
nor earth’s darkness
and life’s harshness

In my mind, you exist
Thing I can do the least
keep you sheltered and warm
in our pretend world without harm

In my heart, you are conserved
Rumors and judgments are unheard
The outside’s a dangerous quest
Stay inside, this is for the best

Live serenely in there
Where everything is fair
I hope that’s how it seems
I’ll visit you in daydreams

I dedicate this poem to everyone who has purposely chosen not to have children despite their longing to be a mother and to those who have lost a child.

Recognizing that the weight of the world is already at its maximum capacity, so you come to terms with the fact that you are not equipped, and don’t have the capability to sustain a child’s well-being.

I know some may think it’s selfish, but it’s not. How could you care for a child if you’re not mentally, emotionally, and financially prepared? Every child deserves the best possible life, not just the bare minimum.

To me, admitting and accepting all of these is a selfless act.

I understand how difficult that decision is for some, and I empathize with you.

I hope that one day, your choice to be child-free won’t be questioned and turned into a controversy.

Love,
Cami

Unfortunately, I’m no longer eligible to join the partner program due to country restrictions.
I’ll still continue my membership here to support other writers. Hope you can do the same by clicking the button above if you like my work or for just no reason at all :)

✍ — Published by Libby Shively McAvoy at Dancing Elephants Press. Click here for submission guidelines.

--

--

cami ❀
Dancing Elephants Press

I transform my thoughts and feelings into poems, prose, and stories.