An Introduction

A poem on social interaction and being awkward

L. B.
Dancing Elephants Press

--

An abstract painting
Photo by Steve Johnson on Unsplash

You can read this poem for free here.

At a social gathering
Friends and peers, a smattering
Someone walks up with a stranger, I should greet him
How to do it, should I entertain them?

The art of a first introduction
Requires logical deduction
This social construct
Requires proper conduct

Do I nod, waive, shake hands, or dap?
What music is playing? Do people still listen to rap!?
The nature of the introduction is itself an art
No matter how many times I’ve done it before, I’m still not smart

Don’t get me wrong, I love to meet new humans
It’s just a struggle to understand the decorum to do it in
Sometimes I think I’m a walking Faux Pas
Social gatherings are like the antitheses of a spa

What I mean by that is they are stressful
People, etiquette, the opposite of restful
But as a human who is being
We are all on the same ride, in a matter of speaking

--

--

L. B.
Dancing Elephants Press

I write about life, tech, poetry, philosophy. I have a BA in Liberal Studies. Christian dad of six.