Photo of a strawberry kuchen.
https://unsplash.com/@julie_peretiatko

Favorite Foods That Make My Mouth Salivate

In response to Dancing Elephants prompt 32 0f 52.

Joyce Nielsen
Dancing Elephants Press
4 min readMay 15, 2023

--

Most of the meals that I’ve savored have been in European countries. I haven’t eaten in any American restaurants that excite me in that same manner. And ethnic places here tend to adapt their food to the American palate. The country that has offered me the best memories while eating and drinking is Germany.

My first introduction to Europe was in 1978. I chaperoned senior Girl Scouts to Adelboden, Switzerland. We stayed at the International Girl Guide Chalet. Our driving route took us through Germany, Austria, and Switzerland. We visited iconic cities and stayed in Youth Hostels.

My daughter, Chris, celebrated her 14th birthday when we toured Germany. I walked the cobblestone paths past a bakery. A strawberry Kuchen in the window caught my eye. There was an idea. I entered the shop, said “Guten tag” and left with the kuchen in a bakery container. We had two forks to eat it with.

I found Chris and invited her to go with me to the banks of the Rhine River. We sat on the grass and enjoyed every delectable bite. The memory is a birthday we’ll never forget.

--

--

Joyce Nielsen
Dancing Elephants Press

I write on all aspects found in Nature. I hope to inspire with tales of adventure and my life experience. You can email me here: nimbledoe2@gmail.com.