Giving Back…

Adventures in being a “Big Brother”

Gary L. Friedman
Dancing Elephants Press
2 min readNov 6, 2023

--

Before and After, in front of Mr. Roark’s house.

For over 100 years, there has been a “Big Brother / Big Sister” organization in the US, which pairs volunteers with at-risk kids in single parent homes to provide a caring adult role model. For over 20 years, starting in college and continuing well into my working life, I was just such a “Big Brother” to two fatherless boys.

Meet “Little Brother #2”. I spent time with him regularly since he was 5.
We learned to horseback ride together.
We learned to scuba dive together.
A few other sports too! :-)
We had all sorts of other adventures.
He was a huge basketball fan, and I had a ton of frequent flyer miles. So one weekend we flew to Detroit, saw a Pistons game, and flew back. This picture was taken with a point-and-shoot that only had a center focus point, so the players are in focus but not the subjects. It is the photographer’s curse that nobody else ever takes good pictures of you.
I had a friend who was a pilot. He got the experience of taking control of the plane for a short time.
Before and After #2. Recently he came over, brought a soccer ball, and took ME to the beach!

We spent a lot of time together over the years, times I relish because I’ve always wanted kids, and I truly believe there’s no better way to spend your spare time than helping others. We still keep in touch; he recently confided in me that those were the best years of his life.

There’s a yiddish term called “Nachas”, which roughly translates to “The joy you get indirectly from your children’s successes. I felt that recently when he asked me to be the best man at his wedding!

A milestone for both of us.

I was his best man! Quite an honor.

--

--

Gary L. Friedman
Dancing Elephants Press

Gary L. Friedman is a professional photographer who runs the stock image website FriedmanArchives.com and has written many best-selling camera-specific books.