NATURE AND LIFE

How I Celebrate My Sustainability Day

In response to Dancing Elephants prompt 49 of 52

Akemi Sagawa
Dancing Elephants Press
3 min readSep 5, 2023

--

Stitched Pants: Photo by Author Akemi Sagawa

In the US, the first Monday in September is Labor Day. Everybody enjoys the three-day weekend. My husband flew to New York City to spend time with his college friends.

Alone at home, I picked up two pairs of pants. Both of them had a tear on the left knee.

In the past few weeks, I have gone shopping, searching for new pairs. I couldn’t find anything I liked. Nothing was the right style, the right color, or the right texture. Maybe I was hoping to find exactly the same kind as the torn pants, which were already out of fashion a long time ago.

Alone at home, I picked up two pairs of pants. Both of them had a tear on the left knee.

I have no idea why only on the left knee, but the tear clearly indicated how much I liked to wear them.

Torn Pants: Photo by Author Akemi Sagawa

Left alone at home on the Labor Day weekend, I picked up the torn pants, thread, and needle, and started stitching. Did I know how to do it? Not quite, but there were more than enough YouTube videos instructing where to start…

--

--

Akemi Sagawa
Dancing Elephants Press

Formerly a tech entrepreneur, now a voluntary cultural ambassador of Japan. Founder of Five Senses Foundation (fivesensesfoundation.org). akemisagawa.com