Mindfulness and healing

How I Mindfully Healed and Grew From A Deeply-Ingrained Pattern of Conflict

Dancing Elephants Press Book Project Mindfulness

Sally Prag
Dancing Elephants Press
6 min readMay 9, 2022

--

Photo by zhang kaiyv on Unsplash

“Mindfulness is a way of befriending ourselves and our experience.” — Jon Kabat-Zinn

Mindfulness is a wonderful thing.

Choosing to intentionally increase our day-to-day mindful awareness has benefits across the board: for our health, relationships, happiness, and even our wealth. It affects our ability to find peace and connect with ourselves.

There are many ways in which we can start to cultivate more mindfulness in our daily lives. Practices such as Mindfulness Meditation, which has, according to one of many studies on the effects of mindfulness, proven itself to aid with increasing concentration and learning capacity in adults. In another study, it was revealed to reduce heart rate and stress indicators, leading to better overall health.

Personally, I spent a lot of my younger years learning both Buddhist meditation and Hindu chanting meditation, as well as yoga asanas for greater body awareness. When I was twenty-one, I spent ten days on a silent retreat, which made an enormous impact on my general mindfulness in my life.

--

--

Sally Prag
Dancing Elephants Press

Wilfully niche-less, playfully word-weaving. Rethinking life through my words. Sometimes too seriously, sometimes not seriously enough.