How I Took These Pregnancy Shots

Photography Experiments

Gary L. Friedman
Dancing Elephants Press
4 min readSep 3, 2018

--

image by Gary Friedman

I’m writing this blog post from Boston, where we’re expecting the arrival of Grandchild #3. We expect to take family portraits immediately afterward, so I packed a very portable studio with me (which I’ll detail below).

We took a few token full pregnancy shots. I really wanted to do something a little different. Like the shot above, which I had never tried before. It took me a few tries to get it right. Here are all of my mistakes in getting there, in glorious color.

First I tried just putting a flash on a bookshelf and have it point to behind the subject. The shot below is the result.

image by Gary Friedman

What happened? The flash is going out in all directions, way more than what I need. At first, I thought there was too much stuff around the flash, so we moved it to the hallway and I had my wife hold the flash behind my pregnant subject:

image by Gary Friedman

Not much better! I need to somehow narrow the beam more than just setting the flash’s zoom to 70mm. Normally I’d just wrap some construction paper around the flash as I’ve done before, but this time I used a speed grid similar to the kind sold by David Honl, except this one was homemade using a collection of cut straws, made by Lumodi beauty dish president Brandon Cruz. (I now carry these in my camera bag.)

image by Gary Friedman

This effectively narrows the beam so that the edges of the beam just touched the outside of her head:

image by Gary Friedman

Progress! Okay, so that’s the head. But I want the body as well. Fortunately, I brought with me a 2nd flash and a 2nd grid. (Doesn’t everyone carry these in their camera bag? :-) )

image by Gary Friedman

Even better! The beam is so narrow, though, that it’s only skimming the subject’s front but not her back. And here I had a choice: I could continue to try people’s patience by experimenting with flash placement and distance (to widen the beam to cover both the front and back), or I could use a shortcut and move the bottom flash so its light skimmed only her back, and then merge the pictures in Photoshop, deepening the blacks in the process. That’s the path I chose. The back shot and then the final shot are shown below.

image by Gary Friedman
image by Gary Friedman

Gratuitous stats: A55, Zeiss 16–80, 1/160, f/4.5, ISO 100.

My Portable Studio Parts List

As promised, here’s what I carry with me when I have to travel light and still get winning results. Please remember you can travel even lighter and spend even less money by using human light and diffuser stands as described in my blog on the 5-dollar studio.

image by Gary Friedman

Careful placement of only one diffuse light source (in this case, to the right and pointing to the subject’s face) can really add drama to your pictures!

image by Gary Friedman
image by Gary Friedman

Until Next time,

Yours Truly,
Gary Friedman

image by Gary Friedman

Originally published at friedmanarchives.blogspot.com on September 3, 2018.

--

--

Gary L. Friedman
Dancing Elephants Press

Gary L. Friedman is a professional photographer who runs the stock image website FriedmanArchives.com and has written many best-selling camera-specific books.