I AM…

Now what do you say next?

James Boylan
Dancing Elephants Press

--

I Am Somebody
Photo by Nayani Teixeira on Unsplash

The most important words that one could ever speak are the words following “I am!” Think about it for a moment. Say to yourself “I am!” What are your very first thoughts after saying this?

When I began studying spirituality I was disappointed in what I was seeing and hearing about organized religion. I didn’t like myself and if I didn’t like me I hated you and if I hated you I hurt you.

And if I hurt you, I was sorry, and if I was sorry, I got remorse, and if I got remorse, I got drunk trying to end it all and discovering that things just got worse, so I hurt someone to feel better myself and felt worse, so around and around I went on the merry-go-round of agony.

I saw no way out of this misery and started planning my suicide and funeral. I would go out in a blaze of glory so that my family would still be covered by my insurance instead of denied because of the suicide.

The spiritual aspects of life began working through me just as soon as I let go and let God. I was discovering that I was not alone. So I not only listened but did what I was learning from spiritual advisors.

Soon the I AMs turned from a piece of dirt to I AM SOMEBODY. Then I AM SOMEBODY GOOD, Then I CARE ABOUT OTHERS AS WELL AS MYSELF.

--

--

James Boylan
Dancing Elephants Press

"HI" Medium Top Writer Ideas. Publisher Spiritualityandrecovery. 47+ yrs sober introduced me to Spirituality.