I Am a Woman

An Indian poem celebrating a normal female longing…

Rekha Philip
Dancing Elephants Press

--

https://www.behindwoods.com/malayalam-actress/anu-sithara/anu-sithara-stills-photos-pictures-26.jpg
https://www.behindwoods.com/malayalam-actress/anu-sithara/anu-sithara-stills-photos-pictures-26.jpg

Chum…chum…chum…
I hear the sound of anklets.
like dew drops poured into my soul
Oh, what sweet fragrance!
The Chamba tree has bloomed again.

Under the spell of the scents and sounds,
the woman in me
gently wakes up and grows
shooting fresh new boughs
of sweet longings
I truly know not how to hide.

Oh! the red Kumkum boxes,
the heap of glossy glass bangles…
How they lure me
to their world of charm!

Heart longs for thick dark tresses,
smeared with the purest oil concoctions
and adorned with jasmine flowers;
hanging down the slender waist,
swaying to the music of the anklets,
waiting for the playful breeze
to gently kiss and stroke through.

How I wish to bathe myself
in the cream of milk and sandal paste
and be draped in pure silk,
most gorgeous and divine!
Find no fault with me for…

--

--

Rekha Philip
Dancing Elephants Press

Born, raised and lived in different places, I carry the flavor of many lands. An honest soul, I record my thoughts, To make one reflect for a better world..