I Am Truly Set Free

A Journey Beyond Human Masks

Muhammad Nasrullah Khan
Dancing Elephants Press

--

Photo by Joshua Earle on Unsplash

You wonder why I wander in the woodlands,
why I run with the river,
why I chase the wild birds,
their songs a hymn to the untamed sky.

Let me tell you:

The beautiful things set me free.
The whisper of leaves in the morning light,
the dance of shadows at twilight,
the symphony of rain on old trees.

Among the broken hearts,
where the animals you call humans
wear their masks of sorrow and greed,
I find peace in the pure and wild.

In the tangled roots and mossy stones,
I see a truth unspoken,
a peace unfound in city streets,
where souls are shackled by their own making.

The creatures of the earth,
with their primal grace and silent wisdom,
teach me the language of freedom,
a dialect lost to human ears.

So I wander, I run, I chase,
seeking refuge in the raw and the real,
for among the beautiful things,
I am truly set free.

--

--

Muhammad Nasrullah Khan
Dancing Elephants Press

His short stories are well-recognized internationally for his unique prose style. nasar_peace@hotmail.com