I Never Knew The Meaning And Power Of Self Love

In response to Dancing Elephants Prompt 21 of 52

Dr. Preeti Singh
Dancing Elephants Press
6 min readFeb 25, 2023

--

Photo by the author-Preeti Singh

I never knew what was self love

I never knew the meaning of self-love. According to the constructs of the socio-cultural strict norms of my time, women were never to think of love for themselves. They were caregivers and not the ones who received care.

I studied in a Catholic Convent of Irish nuns at Loreto Convent Ranchi. I loved the school and the nuns were the sweetest things in my life. We were taught self care-to have impeccable manners, be polite, bring a serviette and spread it at lunch, shoes to be polished, and uniforms to be clean. We had to take care of ourselves and not talk too much to boys either.

My parents had made some adjustments to the socio-cultural norms of our times as they gave me The Gift Of A Life Of Independence but still, they had to live within the society and I was always branded as having more independence than others around me.

Taking care of myself was important and I could not be overconfident or look at my mirror images as that would mean boasting about myself. Women were not to boast. They had to be present but absent

At that time I did not know that self-care was actually the subjugation of women…

--

--

Dr. Preeti Singh
Dancing Elephants Press

Doctorate in Finance, Professor, Author, I write about Life’s experiences, edutech. 9xTop writer.