I Never Thought Living Alone Could Lead Me to An Intentional Life

Jielynne Barao
Dancing Elephants Press
3 min readMay 14, 2022

At first, I thought living alone can give me the positivity to make my life brighter. But instead, it brought me so much more — meaning.

Photo by Elia Pellegrini on Unsplash

Ever since I graduated from college I got this notion of how liberating and fun it could be to start living on my own. No noise to bother my quiet morning coffees or my sensitive writing routines. No one to disturb me when I need nothing but utter silence and raindrops in my head.

Luckily, I was able to do so.

It’s been almost two years now and counting.

I wouldn’t go into details about how I made it happen but having three jobs sure played a huge role.

Turns out, that living alone is far more rewarding than I thought it would be. It essentially made my life a whole lot meaningful.

I’ve always been career-driven and financially responsible, or at least I thought I was. Reality hit me too hard when I experienced first-hand how hard it is to do everything at home while working a 9–5 and part-time jobs.

Both my personal and work routine got messed up. My health and finances too. And for several months, I wasn’t enjoying it. I’m juggling my three jobs and my creative hobbies all at once, and budgeting both my personal and family’s finances.

But I guess what they say is true, there is calm after a storm.

After the first six months, I realized that I’m slowly becoming more intentional. And it wasn’t as complex or lofty as others expect it to be.

The journey was confusing, but the destination? It was crystal. It is full of blunt reflections, unkind words, and small yet meaningful shifts. It comes with plastered hiccups and whys but it also brings contentment and conscious choices.

It fosters value-based actions, which can be different for everyone. For me, it’s the simplest of things. From drinking my afternoon coffee in silence, writing poetry on a midnight wake, having alone time (almost every time), to prioritizing self-care without being under people’s wings.

These are the things I hardly had the chance to do when I’m still living with my parents.

Others might say it sounds shallow or almost pathetic as I can do all those even if I live alone or not. And that’s alright. But I guess words cannot express the confidence and independence the choice provided me.

It gave me access to my own power and guided me into living in the present, rather than worry too much about the future.

Living alone, for me, is the best way to spearhead a more intentional life. But it could not be yours.

No matter what you opt for, I hope it brings your life fulfillment, profound satisfaction, and meaning. No, it is not always calming and comfortable. But it will be worthwhile for sure.

This is just a simple piece to share my experience and thoughts, but I’m planning to create a blog series discussing intentional life in a more technical and specific manner. Maybe I could help others craft more meaningful days and wake up in a much happier life. Just maybe.

--

--