If You Do This

You might not be the business person you want to be

DR Rawson - The Possibilist
Dancing Elephants Press

--

Pixabay

“Perhaps you misunderstood; I didn’t say you do; I said you DO NOT do these things.” She responded, “ You are so old school; a lot of this just isn’t necessary.” He said, “You must enjoy the struggle or see it as a badge of honor.”

True Stories

  • I’m fifteen minutes into a meeting, and three people laughing arrive. They are now 30 minutes late. I canceled the meeting. I asked them to come back when they want to do business.
  • In the middle of reading a contract with two attorneys (at $500/hr) on our side and two on their side. The owner of the company took a call from his girlfriend and asked us to wait. I canceled the meeting. The way he handled it made me rethink my decision. I passed on the company. He wasn’t serious.
  • Two people passed notes in a training session with twenty-five new recruits before the lunch break. My assistant spoke with them. After lunch, they were talking to each other in the meeting. They both lost $60,000 plus-year positions (1983).

One More Unique Example

  • A programmer hadn’t completed his code but called it complete. A junior member of the team found the error. The programmer was confronted, and he lied. He said we couldn’t fire him…

--

--

DR Rawson - The Possibilist
Dancing Elephants Press

A retired serial entrepreneur, writer, author, and editor committed to the Human Intelligence movement. Please join us.