Iris, the Rainbow Goddess

In response to Dancing Elephants prompt 19 of 52

Allisonn Church
Dancing Elephants Press

--

photo by the author

In ancient Greek mythology, the goddess Iris travels along rainbows carrying messages from gods to mortals. She is often thought of as the personification of the rainbow itself.

Irises are my favorite flowers. They come in a wide variety of colors, and my favorites tend to be the ones that I don’t have (which is a bit unlike me). I love them all, it just feels special to come across a color that I don’t get to see every day.

Most of the irises around my home are some form of purple.

photo by the author
photo by the author

My mother has some delicate apricot irises in her garden, and some pale yellow ones, too. They look like Victorian valentines to me, faded and elegant.

My wedding bouquet included bold purple irises. I wanted yellow ranunculus as well (purple and yellow are complementary colors), but apparently those don’t do well in high heat and humidity, so we had roses instead.

--

--

Allisonn Church
Dancing Elephants Press

⛅️ 🍃 www.wildchurchpoems.com 🍃 ⛅️ "A single sunbeam is enough to drive away many shadows." — Francis of Assisi