Poetic

It’s Time To Heal

A poem on repair.

Cappuccino Letters
Dancing Elephants Press

--

A white and grey bowl repaired together with gold streaks across the surface
Photo by Riho Kitagawa on Unsplash

Who knows how long we’ve got?
Maybe twenty years
Maybe ten
Maybe just today

Too long there has been pain and anger
Fear and confusion
When I look at you I feel a deep love
Because I know you have always done your very best

Who knows how long we’ve got?
We are ageing, changing every day
We watch the moments stroll by
We do not know how many more life has in store

Too long we have not understood each other
Spent time looking the other way
Ironic- for we are so similar
Let’s make up, there is no time for regret

Life is short
Love is kind
Better to open hearts
And leave the past behind
We are bonded by blood
Bonded in our souls
Let me let you in
Let’s turn our wounds to gold

Turning wounds to gold…it’s not the first time I have been inspired to use this phrase. Kintsugi is the ancient Japanese art of repairing broken pottery with gold. It teaches us to appreciate the beauty of change and celebrate imperfection. I have found great comfort, acceptance and healing through applying the philosophy of Kintsugi to myself and my life.

What parts of your life can you apply Kintsugi to? How can you change your perspective from dissatisfied to empowered?

--

--